How to Obtain Child Abuse Clearances
All employees and volunteers must have valid ACT 34 and ACT 151 clearances in addition to an FBI background check. For more information, please visit
STEP-BY-STEP DIRECTIONS TO APPLY FOR ALL THREE CLEARANCES
Pennsylvania Access to Criminal History (PATCH) – $22.00
Required by Act 34 of 1985 and Act 114 of 2006, as amended, for all prospective employees of public schools, private schools and their contractors’ employees who will work in direct contact with children. Also required for “student teacher candidates”. This is one of three required background checks or clearances.
To be provided by the applicant and reviewed by the school (or higher education administrator) prior to the applicant working in a position in which he will have direct contact with children.
Criminal history reports shall be no more than five (5) years old at the time of employment. See Act 114 of 2006 for further detailed information on PA background check requirements.
Following are procedures for obtaining the PA State Police background clearance.
Fee: $13.00 payable to Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Federal Criminal History Record Information (FCHRI) – $23.85
The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania has changed to a new electronic fingerprinting vendor, IDEMIA, for Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) criminal history background checks. IDEMIA, began processing FBI criminal history checks on November 28, 2017.
Federal Criminal History Background Checks are required by Act 114 of 2006, 24 PS 1-111 as amended (Act 61 of 2008)
Pennsylvania Child Abuse Clearances – $13.00
You may obtain forms from schools or the Department of Human Services website.
The Pennsylvania Child Abuse History Clearance can be submitted and paid for online through the Child Welfare Information Solution (CWIS) self-service portal or mailed in. If you chose to mail the form, please enclose a $13.00 money order or check for each application. No cash accepted. Personal, agency or business checks are acceptable.
Clearance results will be mailed within 14 days from the date that the clearance is received. There will be no replacements after 90 days.
Indicate SCHOOL as the “Purpose of Clearance” $13.00 fee.
For status of a request, please call the Department of Human Services, Childline and Abuse Registry at (717) 783-6211.